About SSMC’s Awards Program

SSMC has presented 174 awards to local sustainability champions since 1999. Our Awards Program is an inspiring celebration and “must attend” event that pays tribute to those working to make our region truly sustainable. We recognize leaders in the following categories:

  • Sustainability Awards: Nominations are now closed. The work of Sustainability Award winners must have an impact in San Mateo County on the three E’s of sustainability: Environmental impacts, social Equity and Economic vitality. Nonprofits, government agencies, businesses, educational institutions, individuals and youth (individuals or groups) are eligible.
  • Green Building Award: Nominations are now open for these awards until January 12, 2024. This award is given to a building in San Mateo County that promotes green, sustainable design and construction and a commitment to electrification or decarbonization efforts. It recognizes the architect, builder and owner of the building. SSMC has sponsored this award with the American Institute of Architects’ San Mateo County Chapter every year since 2003. In 2024, Peninsula Clean Energy joined as a sponsor.

To nominate yourself or someone else, visit our 2024 Nominations page.
To sponsor the Awards event, visit our Sponsorship page.

To see all previous award winners, click here.