Nominations for SSMC’s 2022 Awards Are Now Open!

We welcome nominations, including self-nominations, for our Sustainability Awards as well as the Green Building Award, which is awarded jointly by SSMC and the American Institute of Architects San Mateo Chapter. The Ruth Peterson Award is presented at the discretion of SSMC’s Board of Directors. Read on to learn more about the eligibility and criteria for each award.

Click here for eligibility and criteria for our 2022 Awards.
Check our press release here.

Nominations must be submitted by December 6, 2021.


2022 GREEN BUILDING AWARDS  Nomination Form



Peninsula Clean Energy is also accepting nominations for its 2022 All-Electric Leadership Awards. Nomination Form

About SSMC’s Awards Program

SSMC has presented more than 160 awards to local sustainability champions since 1999. Our Awards Program is an inspiring celebration and “must attend” event that pays tribute to those working to make our region truly sustainable. We recognize leaders in the following categories:

  • Ruth Peterson Award: This is Sustainable San Mateo County’s highest honor. It is awarded at the discretion of the Board to an individual who has contributed significantly to SSMC’s mission.
  • Sustainability Awards: The work of Sustainability Award winners must have an impact in San Mateo County on the three E’s of sustainability: Environmental impacts, social Equity and Economic vitality. Nonprofits, government agencies, businesses, educational institutions and individuals are eligible.
  • Green Building Award: This award is given to a project in San Mateo County that promotes green, sustainable design and construction. It recognizes the architect, builder and owner of the building. SSMC has partnered with the American Institute of Architects, San Mateo County Chapter (AIASMC), to present this award every year since 2003.

In 2021, Peninsula Clean Energy presented the first All-Electric Leadership Awards at SSMC’s Awards Celebration.

In 2020, SSMC presented Reach Code Awards recognizing San Mateo County municipalities that have enacted progressive green building policies.

To learn more about the achievements of our 2020 Award winners,
click here. (PDF)

To see all previous award winners, click here.

Special thanks to our 2021 Sustainability Awards sponsors!

Benefactor Sponsors

Community Sponsors

Neighborhood Sponsors

Donna and Eric Colson
Community Bank of the Bay
Joe Cotchett
David & Nancy Crabbe
DES Architects and Engineers
Jerry Hill
Kaiser Permanente
George & Rhonda Kreitem
Peter & Diane Lawrence
Russ Miller
Republic Services
Rethink Waste
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
South San Francisco Scavenger/Blue Line
Robert & Teri Whitehair


Beth and Raj Bhatnagar
Edward Jones/David Amann
Kaia Eakin & Bryan Beck
Gelfand Partners Architects
IBEW Local No. 617
Barbara McHugh & Mark Olbert
Ricki & Doug McGlashan
Terry & Jim Nagel
Port of Redwood City
Bill Schulte
Sims Metal Management
Libby Traubman

Many thanks to these special contributors to our 2021 Awards Celebration & Auction!