Big Turnout for SSMC’s Awards Celebration

Nearly 300 people attended Sustainable San Mateo County’s 24th Annual Awards Celebration on March 30 at the College of San Mateo to honor champions of sustainability, bid on auction items and enjoy dinner together. It was the first time the event was held in person since 2019, and attendees greeted old friends with great enthusiasm.

Diane Bailey and Tom KabatSan Mateo County Supervisor Noelia Corzo and former Menlo Park Mayor Kirsten Keith, who currently serves as SSMC’s vice chair, presented Sustainability Awards to Diane Bailey and Tom Kabat of Menlo Spark for their electrification successes; Redwood High School, a continuation school in Redwood City; and SEI, a nonprofit based in San Rafael that empowers students throughout the Bay Area to become environmental leaders.

Burlingame awardeesHeather Young of the American Institute of Architects’ San Mateo County Chapter awarded the 2023 Green Building Award to the Burlingame Community Center in Burlingame, and Green Building Honorable Mentions to the Atherton Library in Atherton and Gilead Sciences’ Wellbeing Center in Foster City. These awards are jointly sponsored by SSMC and AIASMC.

In keeping with the theme of the event, “A hopeful future for our youth,” SSMC featured three local high school students who have volunteered their time to make the county more sustainable.
Alex Wagonfeld
 of Hillsborough, who attend The Nueva School, received a Sustainability Youth Commendation from SSMC for his work in mobilizing peers. youth awardeesOther students recognized during the event were Colin Chu of Portola Valley, who also attends The Nueva School, and Ethan Hua of San Mateo, who attends Aragon High School.

Jan Pepper, CEO of Peninsula Clean Energy presented its All-Electric Leadership Awards to Lorianna and D. Michael Kastrop of Redwood City (for Outstanding Residential New Construction), Michael Willcox of Redwood City (for Most Inspirational Residential Project), Teri and Robert Whitehair of San Mateo (for Outstanding Residential Modernization) and the Atherton Library (for Outstanding Commercial Project).

The live auction, emceed by Jim Hartnett, former SamTrans and Caltrain CEO, featured a creekside vineyard dinner, a tour of San Mateo County’s Crime Lab, a Monterey getaway and a week at a luxurious Lake Tahoe home.

The annual SSMC awards are designed to raise awareness of sustainability in the community and encourage others to take action. “We are indebted to our sponsors and auction item donors for making this event a huge success,” said Christine Kohl-Zaugg, executive director of SSMC.

More photos from the event

Diane Bailey and Tom Kabat
Burlingame awardees
youth awardees



Community Sponsors

Bohannon Foundation
Franklin Templeton
Northern California Carpenters Local No. 617
Putnam, Kent
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
South San Francisco Scavenger Co., Inc.

Neighborhood Sponsors

Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy, LLC
Crabbe, Nancy & David
Davies Appliance
DES Appliance
Jerry Hill
IBEW Local No. 617
Kaiser Permanente
Kreitem, George and Rhonda

Nagel, Terry and Jim
Port of Redwood City
Republic Services
Sims Metal
Water Emergency Transportation Authority


David Amann, Beth and Raj Bhatnagar, Joanna Cui, Kaia Eakin and Bryan Beck, Georgi LaBerge and Warren Dale, Ricki and Doug McGlashan, Russ Miller & Kirk Pessner, Lisa and Michael Nash, SAMCEDA

Special Contributors

Bruand, Bernard
Devils’ Canyon Brewing Co.
Keith Gruchala Photography
Hubbard, Sarah
LaBerge, Georgi
McGlashan, Ricki
Peterson, Dan
Schulte, Bill
Woodell, John

Thanks to our 2023 Awards Sponsors