Congratulations to Our 2022 Award Winners!

Sustainability Awards: Each Green Corner, Kamilah Salahuddin, Seamless Bay Area

Ruth Peterson Award: Robert Whitehair

Green Building Award: Marshall Medical Offices on Kaiser Permanente’s Redwood City campus

Learn more about SSMC’s award winners here.

Read about Peninsula Clean Energy’s 2022 All-Electric Leader awardees, who were also recognized at our Awards Celebration.

About SSMC’s Awards Program

SSMC has presented 166 awards to local sustainability champions since 1999. Our Awards Program is an inspiring celebration and “must attend” event that pays tribute to those working to make our region truly sustainable. We recognize leaders in the following categories:

  • Ruth Peterson Award: This is Sustainable San Mateo County’s highest honor. It is awarded at the discretion of the Board to an individual who has contributed significantly to SSMC’s mission.
  • Sustainability Awards: The work of Sustainability Award winners must have an impact in San Mateo County on the three E’s of sustainability: Environmental impacts, social Equity and Economic vitality. Nonprofits, government agencies, businesses, educational institutions and individuals are eligible.
  • Green Building Award: This award is given to a project in San Mateo County that promotes green, sustainable design and construction. It recognizes the architect, builder and owner of the building. SSMC has partnered with the American Institute of Architects, San Mateo County Chapter (AIASMC), to present this award every year since 2003.

In 2021, Peninsula Clean Energy presented the first All-Electric Leadership Awards at SSMC’s Awards Celebration.

In 2020, SSMC presented Reach Code Awards recognizing San Mateo County municipalities that have enacted progressive green building policies.

To see all previous award winners, click here.

Thanks to our 2022 Awards Sponsors


Community Sponsors

Neighborhood Sponsors

Colson, Donna and Eric
Community Bank of the Bay
Cotchett, Joe
Crabbe, Dave and Nancy
DES Architects + Engineers
Gelfand Partners Architects
IBEW Local 617
Kaiser Permanente
McHugh, Barbara & Mark Olbert
Miller, Russ & Kirk Pessner
Nagel, Terry & Jim

Port of Redwood City
Recology San Mateo County
Republic Services
Rethink Waste
San Francisco Bay Ferry
Service by Medallion
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Sims Metal Management
SMC Spare the Air Resource Team
South San Francisco Scavenger / Blue Line


Amann, David of Edward Jones
Bhatnager, Beth & Raj
Hill, Jerry
Kreitem, George & Rhonda
McGlashan, Ricki & Doug

Nash, Lisa Diaz & Michael
Putnam Mazda and Putnam Subaru
Seaport Industrial Association

Special Contributors

Gary Bridges Photography

Ricki McGlashan